Jump to main content.

Information Collection Request National Primary Drinking Water Regulations: Phase V Synthetic Organic And Inorganic Chemicals, Draft.

Quick Links

EPA Office

Ref. Number

Document Type

Title (Downloadable)


Assessment Topic

In this rule, EPA is promulgating MCLGs and national primary drinking water regulations for 24 Phase V contaminants. These contaminants are divided into three groups. The first group consists of six inorganic chemicals: antimony, beryllium, cyanide, nickel, sulfate, and thallium. The second consists of three volatile synthetic organic chemicals: dichloromethane, 1,2,4-trichlorobenzene, and 1,1,2-trichloromethane. The third group is made up of 15 synthetic organic chemicals. Of these nine are pesticides (dinoseb, diquat, endothall, endrin, glyphosate, oxamyl, picloram, and simazine) and six are non-pesticides (benzo(a)pyrene, di(ethylhexyl)adipate, di(ethylhexyl)phthalate, hexachlorobenzene, hexchlorocyclopentadiene, and dioxin). The regulatory initiative discussed in this document is intended to protect public health and welfare from these chemicals.

Reference #:
W.91.4 B
EPA Office:
Office of Water
Office Suboffice:
Office of Ground Water and Drinking Water
Office Division:
No division specified
EPA Author:
Folsom, Steve; Kessler, Carl
Document Type:
Background Cost-Related Document
Wade Miller Associates, Inc.
Document Status:
Not Reported

Local Navigation

Jump to main content.